Foreword Reviews

  • Book Reviews
  • Books Published October 16, 2018

October 16, 2018

Here are all of the books we've reviewed that were published October 16, 2018. You can also view all of the books we've reviewed that were published anytime in October 2018.

Book Review

Scarlet’s Magic Paintbrush

by Karen Rigby

With its read-aloud pleasure, "Scarlet’s Magic Paintbrush" appeals to the artist in everyone. Perfection gives way to creativity in "Scarlet’s Magic Paintbrush", the story of a girl who loses her initial delight at producing... Read More

Book Review

Atlas of Men

by Delia Stanley

Well-rounded and dramatic, "Atlas of Men" dives into deep and controversial subjects. David Sklar’s compelling novel "Atlas of Men" is based on real-life events, and is filled with surprises and complex relationship dynamics. Robert... Read More

Book Review

Cry Wilderness

by Letitia Montgomery-Rodgers

A bit of a fish story (if fish were replaced with political fisticuffs), Frank Capra’s "Cry Wilderness" follows a fictionalized Capra to a wilderness cabin in the high Sierra and into local politics, where two long-term... Read More

Book Review

The Ship, the Saint, and the Sailor

by Katie Asher

In scientist Bradley G. Stevens’s "The Ship, the Saint, and the Sailor", a 143-year-old shipwreck is recovered; the narrative tracks its discovery and preservation. The Kad’yak sank in an Alaskan harbor almost a century and a half... Read More

Book Review

The Last Sword Maker

by John M. Murray

A terrifying vision of future warfare in the vein of Tom Clancy’s and Michael Crichton’s novels, Brian Nelson’s "The Last Sword Maker" follows a horrific outbreak in Tibet that proves to be a targeted weapons test—one that... Read More

Book Review

Inevitably Toxic

by Rebecca Foster

Most of the ten essays collected in "Inevitably Toxic" are based on papers presented at Claremont College’s “Contested Expertise, Toxic Environments” workshop in Fall 2015. Reading them is like attending an academic conference and... Read More

Load More