Foreword Reviews

Peter Dabbene, Book Reviewer

Book Review

Go Ahead in the Rain

by Peter Dabbene

Hanif Abdurraqib views the legacy of a classic and respected rap group through a distinctly personal lens in Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest. As the subtitle might imply, Abdurraqib’s book doesn’t attempt an... Read More

Book Review

Karma Police

by Peter Dabbene

Buddhism is the backdrop for metaphysical excitement in "Karma Police", a graphic novel that casts monks as thoughtful enforcers. Their goal? To ease suffering without violence, if possible—but if needed, to destroy evil spirits that... Read More

Book Review

Super Sikh

by Peter Dabbene

A Sikh secret agent fights terrorism and preconceptions in the entertaining graphic novel adventure Super Sikh: Volume One. Deep Singh poses as a “second shift supervisor” at a large company, but he actually serves as an operative... Read More

Book Review

Cellies

by Peter Dabbene

A decidedly non-superhero “team book,” "Cellies" is the fun and briskly paced story of six employees of a mobile phone retail store. Led by their gung-ho but slightly dim manager, Christian, the Jog Mobile crew attempt to manage... Read More

Book Review

Apocalypse Chow

by Peter Dabbene

Fans of Heart of Darkness, Apocalypse Now, and fine dining will enjoy this culinary, parodying romp. Inspired by his restaurant work experiences, David Julian Wightman reworks elements of Heart of Darkness and Apocalypse Now into a... Read More

Load More