Foreword Reviews

Foreword Reviews’ 2015 INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards Winners Announced

June 25, 2016—Today, during the American Library Association’s Annual Conference, Foreword Reviews announced the winners for the 18th annual INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards. For a full list of the winners, searchable by genre, visit:

“Foreword’s INDIEFAB judges are the key to our winners selection process, and, in our minds, the most foolproof way to choose award-winning books,” said Victoria Sutherland, publisher of Foreword Reviews. “We work with a librarian and bookseller in each category to provide us with an insider’s perspective on what would do well on consumer and library shelves. Using industry professionals confirms the trade quality of a book.”

Nearly 2,000 entries by independent publishers, university presses, and self-published authors were entered in 66 categories, but only the very best were named gold, silver, bronze, and honorable mention designees.

South of Everything cover Cuba cover Foreword Reviews awarded South of Everything, by Audrey Taylor Gonzalez (She Writes Press) and Cuba: This Moment, Exactly So, by Lorne Resnick and Brian Andreas (Insight Editions) its Editor’s Choice Prizes in fiction and nonfiction respectively.

Berrett-Koehler was named Foreword’s publisher of the year. “Berrett-Koehler has a longtime track record of great books, with a focus on collaboration, community, and communication. They embody what is best about being independent,” says Sutherland.


Founded in 1998, Foreword Magazine, Inc. is the publisher of the only review journal completely devoted to independent publishing: Foreword Reviews, a Folio: award-winning bimonthly print review journal. Foreword exclusively covers university and independent (non “Big 5”) publishers, the books they publish, and their authors. Foreword is based in Traverse City, Michigan, with staff based worldwide.