Foreword Reviews

2010 BOTYA Winners Announced

June 25, 2011—Foreword Reviews is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Book of the Year Awards and the Independent Publisher of the Year.

At a ceremony during the American Library Association Conference in New Orleans, the 215 Book of the Year Award winners in 60 categories were honored. These books, representing the best independently published books from 2010 were selected by a panel of librarian and bookseller judges.

Mink River Two books were also named Editor’s Choice Prize winners, a distinction that comes with a $1,500 cash prize. The Editor’s Choice Prize for Fiction was given to Oregon State University Press for Mink River by Brian Doyle (978-0-87071-585-3).

“Mink River is one of the most generous books I’ve ever read. From the schoolteacher to the sculptor, the cop to the child beater, the humanity of its characters soils every inch of ground and perfumes each molecule of air in a remote place we’re lucky to pause in for a while. Brian Doyle breathes new life into the novel of small-town America,” said Foreword Book Review Editor Julie Eakin.

Mink River Welcome Books was presented with the Editor’s Choice Prize for Nonfiction for its book, The Last Good War, photographed by Thomas Sanders and written by Veronica Kavass (978-1-59962-085-5).

“The World War II veterans featured in The Last Good War all have these incredible stories—and it shows on their faces, which Thomas Sanders has captured masterfully,” said Kimber Bilby, managing editor of Foreword Reviews and awards coordinator. “As the surviving number of our greatest generation dwindles, their heroism—and stories—will live on in this wonderful book.”

The other 215 winners were selected by dozens of librarians and booksellers who are experts in the subject matter of the books they judged, and who make daily purchasing decisions for their collections or bookstores.

This year, McPherson & Company was named Foreword’s Independent Publisher of the Year. An independent house since 1974, McPherson & Company publishes contemporary English and American fiction. Owner Bruce McPherson is intimately involved in the acquisition of titles, as well as the design and manufacturing of notable works, such as the 2010 National Book Award winner, Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon. Foreword’s founder and publisher, Victoria Sutherland, spoke at the awards ceremony and announced the winners.

“Today’s celebration of our Award winners and finalists is the culmination of a very intense but rewarding year-long effort by everyone on staff at Foreword Reviews. All of our editors become invested in certain genres, titles, and authors, and the award ceremony is very emotional. To make the announcements at ALA is especially satisfying.”


About Foreword Magazine: Since 1998, Foreword Reviews has provided trade book reviews of the best titles from independent presses. In print, and online, its FOLIO award-winning design and editorial content makes the magazine a favorite among librarians, booksellers, and readers—an excellent resource when it comes to purchasing books. Foreword INDIES and the fee-for-review Clarion service complement our online content and print magazine, helping to showcase independent presses and their authors for over 24 years.