ForeWord Reviews

great books independent voices

The Hair-Loss Cure

A Self-Help Guide

Clarion Review (4 Stars)

“Most people at some time in their lives notice more hair in the sink, on the pillow, or in the comb,” the author writes. Shedding hair and growing new hair are parts of a normal cycle, but hair loss can become excessive.

David H. Kingsley is a trichologist, a paramedical health specialist who treats hair and scalp problems from a holistic perspective. He uses the word “cure” to include improvement, and he shares his extensive knowledge about tackling hair loss. When discussing the causes of hair loss and treatment, the author addresses seven topics that begin with “H,” as “hair” does. Among these “7Hs of Hair Loss” are heredity, hunger (nutrition), and hairdressing. Regarding short-term dietary deficiencies, Kingsley writes, “Once corrected, hair will regrow normally.”

The author wisely includes suggestions for handling the stress that can result from losing hair, such as participating in a hair-loss Internet chat room. A short questionnaire taken from the author’s own Kingsley Alopecia Profile helps readers evaluate how hair loss is affecting their quality of life. For monitoring changes in genetic hair loss, black-and-white drawings depict different stages of these conditions. Charts provide space for periodically recording results of various hair-loss assessments, including measuring thinned areas.

Kingsley and his wife founded the British Science Corporation, a trichology company in New York. He treats patients at its Manhattan and Staten Island centers. Kingsley holds a doctorate in hair-loss research from the University of Portsmouth in England. He also has a degree in psychology from the City University of New York and board certification in trichology from the Institute of Trichologists. The Hair-Loss Cure is an updated version of Kingsley’s 2007 book with the same title, which received first place in the fifteenth annual Writer’s Digest International Self-Published Book Awards.

The author helpfully clarifies many terms in parentheses. For example, he writes, “Female pattern hair loss is typically diffuse (evenly spread over the scalp).” However, some of these notations direct readers to the book’s “References and Further Reading” section. An author name or title of a Web site would have better enabled readers to find this information in the book’s reference section.

This well-organized book will help adults who are losing hair to better understand their condition and to make wise choices about treatment. Readers who want additional medical information will appreciate the appendix, where explanations include the hair cycle and details about several hair-loss conditions. Thorough editing could have cut down on the number of typographical errors, several of which consist of a space between a noun and the “s” that makes it plural.

The author shows that many treatments can reverse or slow hair loss. For readers of The Hair-Loss Cure, extra hair in the sink or on the pillow is not a sign of doom, but rather a stimulus for action.