Foreword Reviews

  • Book Reviews
  • Newest Releases
Return to Most Recent

Book Review

The Ship, the Saint, and the Sailor

by Katie Asher

In scientist Bradley G. Stevens’s "The Ship, the Saint, and the Sailor", a 143-year-old shipwreck is recovered; the narrative tracks its discovery and preservation. The Kad’yak sank in an Alaskan harbor almost a century and a half... Read More

Book Review

The Last Sword Maker

by John M. Murray

A terrifying vision of future warfare in the vein of Tom Clancy’s and Michael Crichton’s novels, Brian Nelson’s "The Last Sword Maker" follows a horrific outbreak in Tibet that proves to be a targeted weapons test—one that... Read More

Book Review

Inevitably Toxic

by Rebecca Foster

Most of the ten essays collected in "Inevitably Toxic" are based on papers presented at Claremont College’s “Contested Expertise, Toxic Environments” workshop in Fall 2015. Reading them is like attending an academic conference and... Read More

Book Review

On the Future

by Rebecca Foster

Martin Rees has been England’s Astronomer Royal since 1995; he also taught at Cambridge University. With his prestigious scientific background, he is well-positioned to comment on the opportunities and threats that humanity faces in... Read More

Book Review

Quiver

by Catherine Thureson

"Quiver" is a compelling story about an unlikely friendship between two teens from very different backgrounds. Libby—the eldest daughter of her family, whose life is filled with Bible study and helping care for her siblings—is... Read More

Book Review

(Extra)Ordinary Women

by Meredith Grahl Counts

Kristin Bartzokis’s "(Extra)Ordinary Women" features ten contemporary stories of women who’ve been through hell and back. The hardships they endured are related with their firsthand input and a steady authorial tone. Each chapter is... Read More

Load More