Foreword Reviews

  1. Book Reviews
  2. Humor Fiction

Book Review

Mom's Perfect Boyfriend

by Karen Rigby

Crystal Hemmingway’s charming romantic comedy and AI fairy tale, Mom’s Perfect Boyfriend, is about a California mother and her daughters who discover that love can overcome a few secrets—and a lot of meddling—and that it’s... Read More

Book Review

Doppler

by Erika Harlitz Kern

Cutting satire and humorous jeremiads expose the hypocrisies of keeping up with the Joneses in Erlend Loe’s novel "Doppler". After his father dies, Andreas Doppler suffers a breakdown, drops out of society, and goes to live in a tent... Read More

Book Review

Pig in Flight

by Benjamin Welton

Fred J. Schneider’s funny "Pig in Flight" is set in the revolutionary year of 1968. Amid anger over the Vietnam War and the approaching victory of Republican presidential candidate Richard Nixon, an unlikely pack of outsiders decide to... Read More

Book Review

Midtown Madhatter

by Joseph S. Pete

A group of friends whose lives have diverged reunite in this sardonic, amusing novel. Mateo Monda’s novel "Midtown Madhatter" uncorks madcap humor while delving into weighty subjects like substance abuse and addiction. In the late... Read More

Book Review

Roadkill abc

by Camille-Yvette Welsch

"Roadkill abc" is humorous and alarming, inspiring questions of what gets left behind—and why. Adair McPherson’s "Roadkill abc" is a decidedly adult picture book, full of carcasses and decay and a great deal of snarky humor. Its... Read More

Book Review

to be to is to was

by Meredith Grahl Counts

"to be to is to was" is an anti-establishment collection of stories that goes from real to surreal, from Middle America to space rock operas, with its outrageous characters. Stephen C. Bird’s collection of short stories and vignettes... Read More

Book Review

Apocalypse Chow

by Peter Dabbene

Fans of Heart of Darkness, Apocalypse Now, and fine dining will enjoy this culinary, parodying romp. Inspired by his restaurant work experiences, David Julian Wightman reworks elements of Heart of Darkness and Apocalypse Now into a... Read More

Load More