Foreword Reviews

2008 Book of the Year Award Finalists Announced

March 15, 2009—Foreword Reviews is pleased to announce the finalists in the 2008 Book of the Year Awards. More than 1,400 books were entered in 61 categories. These were narrowed to 668 finalists from 376 publishers. These books represent some of the best work coming from today’s independent press community.

The winners will be determined by a panel of librarians and booksellers, selected from our readership. Gold, Silver, and Bronze winners, as well as Editor’s Choice Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction will be announced at BookExpo America at the Javits Center in New York City. The ceremony will be held at 2:00 P.M. on Friday, May 29, at the African America Publishing/Independent Publishers Stage located within the African American Pavilion.

Foreword’s Book of the Year Awards program was designed to discover distinctive books across a number of genres. Past winners have included Rashi’s Daughters, Book 1: Joheved by Maggie Anton and Peace Like a River by Leif Enger.


About Foreword: Founded in 1998, Foreword Reviews is the only independent media company completely devoted to independent publishing. Featuring a Folio:Award-winning bi-monthly print review journal, and online publication, Foreword exclusively covers small, university, and independent (non “Big 5”) publishers, the books they publish, and the creators they work with. Foreword is based in Traverse City, Michigan, USA, and has employees and writers all over the world.