ForeWord Reviews

great books independent voices

If You Love Me, Please Don't Spank Me!

Clarion Review (1 Stars)

“If you love me teach me that spanking is only pain and we will learn from one another that hurt really has nothing to gain.” These powerful words are the essence of this picture book that is as much for parents as it is for their children.

This book is told in the form of a simple but emotional poem about the relationship between a parent and a child. With each stanza comes an illustration that incorporates the illustrators’ own children’s drawings. The stanzas are broken down into sections told from a child’s point of view providing a unique approach to children’s literature. There is an important lesson for both the reader and listener here as Hoshowski describes various methods of good parenting including lessons about sharing fighting trust and controlling one’s temper. Though the book is aimed at younger children aged three to eight the lessons within ring true to readers of all ages including young parents who may have hesitations about the proper method of discipline for their children. However the book’s point of view is entirely one-sided and may turn some parents off for being slightly preachy in its approach.

“If you love me show me that you don’t hit your friend and I will learn to be you a good person in the end” Hoshowski writes. She addresses the important issues in a subtle yet informative manner making the lessons easily relatable to even the youngest of readers. A major downside to the book is the lackluster illustrations. The cover art is cluttered and awkward with the image of a young boy handing his mother a copy of the book in question leading to a picture-in-picture situation that is slightly confusing. The illustrations within are disappointing as well with the majority of the images having been cut and pasted into each frame. However there is a nice touch added to each page in the form of a small white angel signifying an important message from the author that there is an angel watching over everyone helping individuals both young and old to understand their actions and their repercussions. While the book will certainly appeal to religious readers its messages are universal and can be informative and entertaining to all.